Menu Close

The Nordic Council has announced the candidates for the 2024 Music Prize.

The Nordic Council – the inter-parliamentary cooperation organisation formed by the five Nordic countries (Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden) and the autonomous regions of Åland, Greenland and the Faroe Islands – has announced the names of the candidates for the 2024 edition of the Nordic Council Music Prize. The Nordic Council Music Prize was first awarded in 1965 and recognises musical creation and performance of the highest artistic level. The prize, worth DKK 300,000 (around EUR 40,210), is awarded in alternate years to a work by a living composer one year and to an individual performer or ensemble the next. Twelve works are in the running this year, including jazz and folk albums, as well as film soundtracks, symphonies and concertos created by musicians from the Nordic countries. The winner will be announced on 22 October. The winner will be announced on 22 October in Oslo.

This year’s nominees are Danish Jonas Struck (for the score for Lea Glob’s documentary Apolonia, Apolonia, which chronicles thirteen years in the life of French artist Apolonia Sokol) and Rune Glerup (for the violin concerto Om Lys og Lethed); the Finnish Cecilia Damström (for her orchestral work Extinctions) and Linda Fredriksson (for Juniper, the saxophonist’s first solo album); the Faroese Tróndur Bogason (for his two symphonies in one, Symphony no. 1 & 2 Sólárið); Iceland’s Hugi Gu∂mundsson (for his oratorio The Gospel of Mary) and Laufey (for his album Bewitched); the Norwegians Anne Hytta (for her album Bridge) and Tyler Futrell (for his chamber orchestra work Stabat Mater), the Ålandic Peter Lång (for his work LUFT – Art of Air) and the Swedes Anders Hillborg (for his Cello Concerto) and the artistic couple Sara Parkman and Hampus Norén (for their album Eros agape philia).