Menu Close

Ocaña wins the Jóvenes Compositores Award.

The young Spanish composer Tomás Jesús Ocaña (Málaga, 1999) has won the 32nd edition of the Premio Jóvenes Compositores Fundación SGAE-CNDM 2021 jointly organised by the Fundación SGAE and the Centro Nacional de Difusión Musical (CNDM), the final of which took place yesterday in the Auditorio 400 of the Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofía in Madrid.

Ocaña won the first prize, named after Xavier Montsalvatge, -which was endowed with 6,000 euros and the place as composer-in-residence of the Red de Músicas de Juventudes Musicales de España during the 2022-2023 season, with the commission of three chamber music works, for which he will be awarded 1,000 euros per piece-, for his work Y sin embargo, es necesario…

Brais Martínez Basalo (Orense, 1994) won the second prize -Carmelo Alonso Bernaola-, worth 3,000 euros, for his work 22 Cristales rotos y un hilo de sangre (22 Broken Glass and a Thread of Blood). Francisco J. Andreo Gázquez (Gerona, 1989) won the third prize -Francisco Guerrero Marín-, endowed with 1,500 euros, for his piece Tarantos, while Josuè Blanco Balaguer (Sabadell, 1993) received the honorary mention ‘Juan Crisóstomo Arriaga’, endowed with 1,200 euros, for his work Pan.

The Fundación SGAE will release a promotional disc that will bring together the four finalist works of the competition, in order to contribute to their promotion and dissemination. The jury was made up of the composers Alicia Coduras Martínez, Raquel Cristóbal Ramos, Israel López Estelche, Hermes Luaces Feito and José María Sánchez Verdú.

All the pieces were performed by the Ensemble NeoArs Sonora, made up of musicians with extensive experience in the performance of contemporary music.

© Photograph downloaded from the Fundación SGAE website.